Skip to main content

Rental Assistance

  • Rental Assistance

The Housing Choice Voucher Program

The Section 8 (Housing Choice Voucher) Program is a federal funded program for assisting very low-income families, the elderly, and the disabled to afford decent, safe, and sanitary housing in the private market. The participant is free to choose any housing that meets the requirements of the program. Housing choice vouchers are administered locally by public housing agencies (PHAs). Public housing authorities like DHC receive federal funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to manage the voucher program.

Who is eligible?

Eligibility is determined after you are selected from the waiting list.

Eligibility for a housing choice voucher is set forth in DHC’s Administrative Plan for Section 8. Admissions to the program is based on a family’s total annual gross income and is limited to US Citizens and specified categories of non-citizens who have eligible immigration status. Criminal histories are also examined. In general, the family’s income may not exceed 50% of the area median income as prescribed by HUD.

During the eligibility process, DHC will collect information associated with family income, assets, expenses, and family composition. All information must be verified to determine eligibility.

Housing Choice Voucher assistance is based on each individual household situation.